Charming semi-detached cottage in the hamlet of Kilrenny, close to Anstruther, on the beautiful East Neuk of Fife.
All ground floor, this cottage adjoins the owner’s property and has a double bedroom and a further single bedroom across the hall.
The two parts of the village are divided by the Dreel Burn.
Anstruther was originally founded as a fishing village and played a major role in the Scottish herring industry.
Explore central Fife and discover Falkland Palace and some of the beautiful scenery that makes this part of Scotland so appealing.
A lovely holiday cottage and ideally located to discover this hidden gem of Scotland.
The history is well documented in the Scottish Fisheries Museum sitting alongside the attractive and busy harbour.
The 1861 census has been indexed and can be downloaded here The Isle of May is included in Anstruther Wester for the 1841 -1861 censuses, thereafter it is included in Crail (no. Some census records on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family Search Centres around the world. It is available in most Fife reference libraries, in the libraries of the family history societies, and at the Manuscript Department of the Special Collections Department of St Andrews University Library.
The Scotlands Places website lets users search across national databases by geographical location. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
It includes, amongst other material, A very good description is to be found in the relevant chapter in History of the County of Fife: From the Earliest Period to the Present Time by John M Leighton, published 1840, online at Google Books. 1757; from which last date they are recorded among the B. Ask for a calculation of the distance from Anstruther Wester to another place.
ISBN 0901061948 War graves can be seen at the Scottish Wargraves Project and war memorials can be seen at the Scottish War Memorials Project. The early portion of the Register contains entries for the neighbouring parishes of Abercrombie or St Monance, Kilrenny, and Pittenweem. The Society have re-published it in their Publications Series, 26.
Parish / district reference number for 1841 - 1901 censuses: 4 and 1851 returns can be searched on the Free CEN website. Directory of Seafarers - the East Neuk of Fife1580-1800 and The Shipping of Anstruther and the East Neuk of Fife by David Dobson can be obtained from the Tay Valley Family History Society.You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Anstruther Wester area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. It is also available as Fife Traders and Shopkeepers on CD from Fife Family History Society.